Orogold

We’re having fantastic sunny weather here in England, and for the first time in weeks (months?) I managed to venture out for walk during lunch. Samples were being handed out outside one particular shop and although I ignored one salesperson, I was stopped by another who handed me a sample of a face cream which I accepted to be on my way. Or not, as it turned out. The salesman suggested I come inside, offering to show me something great for my skin (I’m an obvious target because I have visible blemishes TT.TT). He promised it would only take a few minutes, so I assumed it would be more samples and followed him in. I didn’t even know what this shop called until I saw products displayed on a counter: Orogold.

After I sat down, this man pulled the stool close, took both hands (!!), looks me in the eyes and says… Can I tell you something? Can I be honest? You’re very beautiful.

WHAT IN THE F.

I’m not sure what came first; my jaw falling to the floor or my comment that his audacity amazed me. I loathe such cheap, cheesy sales tactics and tried to leave at this point, but no. He obviously didn’t understand what I said and proceeded to tell me aaaall about Orogold’s range of products, which contain gold which supposedly has beautifying properties blah blah. I told him very bluntly that I was sceptical about the use of gold and that at best it did nothing and at worst leaves you with an allergic reaction (I read this in an article somewhere). Undeterred he went on to talk about gold being hypoallergenic and delivered the mantra on how the products use only “top quality” ingredients (yet didn’t specifically name a single one). Then he the use organic ingredients – completely irrelevant to me. And I’m not aware of the existence of organic gold, but he didn’t appreciate the joke 😦

He then proceeded with a demonstration, using a gold scrub on one of my hands. To be honest I was quite impressed at the dead skin that came off. This person then told me about the deep cleansing properties of this peel, and how it makes your moisturiser work better. To prove his point, he used a cream on the golden scrubbed hand, which absorbed quickly. On the other hand, it didn’t absorb well at all. Again, I was quite impressed with this. Then he spoke about the price of this little jar of amazingness, how long it would last etc. It retails for £120 – but lucky for me he was able to give a discount and lowered the price to £90.

STILL pushing for a sale in spite of me saying that I would never buy something so expensive without trying it out first, he supposedly spoke to his manager and reduced the price again. The rationale being that because he wants to make a beautiful lady feel beautiful (*vomit*), and because he had absolute faith that I would be amazed with the results, he was willing to cut his commission and offer it to me for £50. By this point I was sure there was something going on. Firstly, who on this earth earns a 40% commission (plainly a lie) (and who would give it up?), and how is a company able to offer its products at less than half the original price? Probably because they suck.

I repeated that I wouldn’t buy it, even at the reduced price, and eventually he stood up. I assumed he had given up, and said he wanted to give me something extra to leave with (being so beautiful and all) – would I accept? I should have said “no” firmly, instead of “eh what?” because next came …. a neck massage. Indeed. Once again, WHAT IN THE F.

“How does that feel, beautiful?”

Me:

I thought Ha! I knew there was a scam somewhere – this where they steal my bag. Also that I do not appreciate being called “beautiful”: I have a name. Then I thought about being strangled. Then I thought about wandering hands. So I said in nice terms that I have neck problems, please stop.

Finally I left, saying I would think about it, do some research and maybe come back.

I walked back to work thinking wtf was that?! :/

I accept that people are trying to do their job and sell you stuff. What I do not appreciate are people physically poking your face to point out the flaws. (Thanks, it’s hard to notice when you don’t see yourself in a mirror every day.) Spinning products that they clearly know little about. Being over zealous in your praise of the product and of me with fake compliments. Sitting too close. Intermittently holding hands. It’s intimidating, it’s uncomfortable. WHERE THE HECK DO YOU THINK YOU ARE!!?? If that happened in any other situation, it would earn you a firm slap in the face. Which is what I should have done at the time 😦

When I got home, I did a little more research. The salesperson had told me that the New York Times ranked Orogold as among the top 3 cosmetics companies in the world. So I googled “Orogold New York Times” purely because I thought it would be funny to read praise of this company vs my own experience at their store. Instead, I saw the headline “Gold Face Cream: A Costly Leap of Faith”. Ho ho ho, I knew it. I was still curious about the kind of reviews it got (which were only positive, I was assured) so I googled “Orogold”. The second result that showed up was: “Beware of Orogold Cosmetics”. I was expecting it to be a health warning. In fact, it was a warning about the pushy sales tactics there D: And those special discounts? Everyone gets them. It seems I’m not alone. (Read the blog post  here).

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

2 thoughts on “Orogold

Leave a Reply

