My Skincare Routine

Following on from my previous post, here is my skincare routine πŸ™‚ Using these products is how I’m finally able to keep my skin clear from spots a.k.a. alien infestation.

In the morning:

I simply wash my face with water – no cleanser because I don’t think it’s necessary. AllΒ  you’re doing is sleeping so the skin isn’t dirty and you don’t want to strip the skin the good stuff. I just use my toner afterwards. I then apply Aromessence Ylang Ylang Oil, followed by Prolagene Gel, Serum Hydrotenseur (for the eyes) and Hydra Floral cream.

Then I apply my make-up, which is a base, a cream foundation, concealer and translucent powder. (Le Blanc de Chanel + Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua or Guerlain Lingerie de Peau (which is the best foundation I have ever used) + Diorskin Nude Concealer + Lancome powder).

As a side note, I am SO tired of hearing people say “don’t wear make-up it causes spots”, doesn’t let your skin “breathe”, etc. I don’t believe that make-up per se causes spots, but certain ingredients do. Which is pretty obvious, but it’s easy to forget what you should avoid when you’re trying out new products. In my case, fragranced products irritate my skin so I avoid them. And need I point out the evil of mineral oils and clogged pores again? Using dirty brushes to apply make-up won’t help (which is why I clean them everyday), and most importantly, not taking your make-up off properly, along with the accumulation of dirt and grime at the end of the day will clog up your skin. Besides, I don’t think anything could convince me leave the house without make-up on!

At night:

I clean my face with Aroma White C Brightening Cleansing Foam which works brilliantly to remove make-up. I use Bi-facil to take off eye make-up.

I then use Aroma White C+ Hydra-Brightening Lotion. Which is a longass name for toner. I hear/read a lot about toners being unnecessary, and that they don’t do anything that water can’t, but I disagree with that. Toners remove traces of your cleanser, and if you wash your face enough times I guess the water will do that to. So all you’ll have left on your face is water, right? Wrong. Unless you splash your face with a bottle of Evian, you’ll have traces of chemicals like chlorine which are added to the water left on your face. So using a toner will remove those impurities, and it will prepare the skin for the next step.

My next step is to apply Iris Night Balm or Prolagene Gel, which helps to heal residual marks. I switch between using Iris for three days and then Prolagene for three days. This is why skincare can feel like a chore -.-

I use Decelor’s herbal mask 3-4 times a week. Once a week I exfoliate using Decleor’s Phytopeel or the St Ives Apricot Scrub, and as a weekly treat I use Eve Lom’s rescue mask (expensive but worth it).

Manon

2 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

  1. Wow, your skin care regime is so thorough. I’m kind of jealous, because I’m horrifically lazy when it comes to taking care of my skin. I’ll have a few days here and there where I engage in a hardcore skin care regime, but then laziness defeats me yet again. The brightening lotion, does it make your skin ‘lighter’?? Any tips for super dry skin? Thanks for sharing btw.

    Oh, and sorry for getting back to you so late, but yes, there were definitely more travel enteries on my blog πŸ™‚

    http://WWW.ROXTHEFOX.COM

    • Lol my routine is really more like a religion πŸ˜€
      The brightening lotion doesn’t make your skin whiter (thankfully, because I don’t want to be even more deathly pale than I already am) Its just supposed to target hyper-pigmentation.

      You could try the Angelique range from Decleor, I’ve heard it’s good for dry skin. I use Hydra Floral and my skin doesn’t get dry (as it sometimes used to especially in the winter), so I guess that works too πŸ™‚

      Stick to something “simple”, like a serum + moisturiser in the mornings, and a cleanser + toner + moisturiser at night. Then you can steadily add more serums spells and potions to your routine as you go πŸ™‚ Oh and try to use masks – they’re really good for dry skin, especially the ones you leave on overnight πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

